10 quotes to travel with

I always have a page on the go in whatever notebook I am currently using to write down my favourite travel quotes and inspirations. Here are my top 10 from this past year, alongside some more of my favourite photographs.

1.

1

I love this quote from Jack Kerouac’s ‘On the Road’. It always reminds me how much there is to left to see but it also stops me from letting my overly-organised side take over when I travel. Sometimes, it really is nice to have nowhere specific to go and to let the road take you wherever it wants to go. It might even take you to this beautiful spot in Monterey!

2.

Picture9

I have talked before about how Wild is one of my favourite travel books, and this is one of the quotes from it that has really stuck with me. Good things aren’t just going to happen to you, you have to go out and get them. Sometimes when I am deciding whether to do something or not, I think of this quote: am I ever really going to regret going out of my way to see something beautiful? Probably not.

3.

2

I actually read this quote for the first time while camping on the edge of this cliff in Carmel Valley, California so it seemed the obvious photo choice. This quote reminds me to keep pushing on even if it would be so much easier to stay where I am.

4.

3

I am fairly sure Bastille didn’t actually play this song when I saw them in November, but ‘laughter lines’ is one of my favourites (plus I love this photo, and I still can’t believe how close we were to the stage!). I hate saying goodbyes, and in the last year I have had to say so many: this lyric reminds me that goodbyes aren’t necessarily a bad thing – it just means that the next time I see that person we will have so many stories to tell and so many new things to learn about each other.

5.

Picture4

It’s kind of comforting to think that everything in life has beauty and order to it, even the sad parts. I hate the idea that ‘everything happens for a reason’ but I can definitely get on board with ‘everything that happens is part of your story’.

6. Picture5

I am lucky to have an amazing group of people in my life, but at the end of the day the direction my life takes is down to me and my choices. I can’t wait around for people to do things for me, or come knocking at my door with opportunities: if it’s meant to be, I have to go and get it.

7.

Picture7

Having said that, things aren’t always going to happen immediately just because I want them to. I am incredibly impatient, so sometimes I need to remind myself that things take time and will happen at their own pace. And no, I am certainly not too old to take inspiration from Disney movies!

8.

Picture8

Sometimes I can really be my own worst enemy: once I have decided that I can’t do something, that’s it. Maybe I won’t be climbing Everest any time soon, but with a lot of mountains (both literal and metaphorical) it definitely is a case of mind over matter.

9.

Picture6

This one word – from East of Eden by John Steinbeck – is probably my favourite quote. It’s a Hebrew word that means ‘thou mayest’ and it essentially means that we have free will to make our own choices and decisions. There is a lot more to it, and I highly recommend you read the book to understand it better, but as someone who hates the idea of ‘fate’ and our lives being pre-planned, it really means a lot to me.

10.

picture10.png

I think anyone who writes anything – whether it’s best selling novels, poetry no one ever sees, or a little travel blog – gets major anxiety about what they write. This quote, from ‘The Book Thief’ (which I also highly recommend), completely sums up how much I both love and hate writing and how it took a lot of courage to put it out there for people to see.

What quotes do you keep with you while travelling? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

